Preaching to Myself

We must learn to fight despondency. The fight is a fight of faith in future grace. It is fought by preaching truth to ourselves about God and his promised future.
Piper, Future Grace

My greatest battle as of late is the battle against despondency.
Despondency is defined as: a state of low spirits caused by loss of hope or courage.
Even as a follower of Jesus this state of low spirits still takes place.
Why?
Because the battle is real. The enemy receives joy when it is taken away from us.
The way to fight back in this battle is to preach the truth of the Gospel to our-self.

This site has been created to fight despondency in my own life.
To fight the fight of faith and future grace.
To preach truth to myself about God and his promised future.

My hope is if you read this, you will join me in battle and fight the fight with me.

The battle against despondency is a battle to believe the promises of God. And that belief in God’s future grace comes by hearing the Word. And so preaching to ourselves is at the heart of the battle.

Piper, Future Grace

Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you in turmoil within me? Hope in God; for I shall again praise him, my salvation and my God. (Psalm 42:11)

Devotion on Despondency

Leave a Reply

