O, To Be An Alabaster Jar

I long to have a passion for Jesus that resonates Him and Him alone.
Despondency and fear are a double edged sword used by the enemy that easily masks and tears away at that desire, and anyone who has ever experienced the weight of fear knows that it is a damaging emotion that quickly and effectively disrupts daily acts of worship and confuses Joy.

This is why the fight for Joy is so important.
Fighting fear is no fun, and quite impossible without Jesus working in our lives.
In fighting despondency and anxiety, Christ must be the focus.

“God…I screwed up…I won’t have a second chance to love and be loved….I’m used….I’m no good for your kingdom…I’m lonely…I’ll never measure up…”

Lies.

God does not measure you by your past mistakes or current struggles.
God measures you by your desire to know Him and BE KNOWN by Him.
God measures you by the grace He has already freely provided.

If you are truly His, He is perfecting love in you, and casting out fear (1 John 4:18).
If we are being perfected in love through Jesus then much like the darkness retreats at the first sign of light, fear retreats at the first sign of perfect love.

Fight fear.
Fight shame.
Fight anxiety.
Fight despondency.
Jesus is on our side.
He is our advocate.
And He is powerful.
He is Mighty.
He Chose you.
He has made you new.
He is CONTINUING to make you new.
Press hard into His promises.


O, To Be An Alabaster Jar

O, to rejoice in brokenness
to be broken before your feet
weak to men alive in You

Can such sacrifice exist?
How can one repay?
How could such love exist?

O, to rejoice in brokenness
to be broken before your feet
dead to man alive in You

Take my sacrifice Lord
it’s all I can offer
an alabaster jar broken before you

O, how I long to wash your feet with all I own
how I long to wash your feet with all I am.

“I will bow my life…
at your feet…at your feet.
My lips…so lost for words….
will kiss your feet…kiss your feet.”

You are more.
In your presence shame melts away
You are more.
In your presence
a broken heart and contrite spirit
Is more than gold.

My sacrifice, O God, is a broken spirit;
a broken and contrite heart
you, God, will not despise.

O, to rejoice in brokenness
to be broken before your feet
weak to men alive in You

Can such sacrifice exist?
How can one repay?
How could such love exist?

Take my sacrifice, O God.


Matthew 26:6-13

While Jesus was in Bethany in the home of Simon the Leper, a woman came to him with an alabaster jar of very expensive perfume, which she poured on his head as he was reclining at the table.

When the disciples saw this, they were indignant. “Why this waste?” they asked. “This perfume could have been sold at a high price and the money given to the poor.”

Aware of this, Jesus said to them, “Why are you bothering this woman? She has done a beautiful thing to me. The poor you will always have with you, but you will not always have me. When she poured this perfume on my body, she did it to prepare me for burial. Truly I tell you, wherever this gospel is preached throughout the world, what she has done will also be told, in memory of her.”

Luke 7:37-50

One of the Pharisees asked him to eat with him, and he went into the Pharisee’s house and reclined at the table. And behold, a woman of the city, who was a sinner, when she learned that he was reclining at table in the Pharisee’s house, brought an alabaster flask of ointment, and standing behind him at his feet, weeping, she began to wet his feet with her tears and wiped them with the hair of her head and kissed his feet and anointed them with the ointment. Now when the Pharisee who had invited him saw this, he said to himself, “If this man were a prophet, he would have known who and what sort of woman this is who is touching him, for she is a sinner.” And Jesus answering said to him, “Simon, I have something to say to you.” And he answered, “Say it, Teacher.”

“A certain moneylender had two debtors. One owed five hundred denarii, and the other fifty. When they could not pay, he cancelled the debt of both. Now which of them will love him more?” Simon answered, “The one, I suppose, for whom he cancelled the larger debt.” And he said to him, “You have judged rightly.” Then turning toward the woman he said to Simon, “Do you see this woman? I entered your house; you gave me no water for my feet, but she has wet my feet with her tears and wiped them with her hair. You gave me no kiss, but from the time I came in she has not ceased to kiss my feet. You did not anoint my head with oil, but she has anointed my feet with ointment. Therefore I tell you, her sins, which are many, are forgiven—for she loved much. But he who is forgiven little, loves little.” And he said to her, “Your sins are forgiven.” Then those who were at table with him began to say among themselves, “Who is this, who even forgives sins?” And he said to the woman, “Your faith has saved you; go in peace.”

Leave a Reply

