Lament

Lamentations is an often neglected book. It was most likely written to be sung as confessions during worship gatherings and is full of nuggets of wisdom. Shortly after Jesus drew me back to Himself, I had a mentor, and great friend, point me to Lamentations 3 after he realized I had not been able to grieve a major loss in my life that wasn’t due to death. It holds some beautiful truth about God’s love through times of affliction.

Entering into the chapter you hear the writer’s grievous cries. He has seen affliction and tasted God’s wrath. You can begin to imagine that God hasn’t exactly made this man’s life easy to this point… I find myself relating to the writing…

The most poignant part of this lament comes around verse 18. Everything up to this point has been extreme depictions of suffering, ALL FROM THE LORD.

But then the beautiful happens….the words “This I call to mind…Therefore I have hope…”

“My endurance has perished; so has my hope in the Lord. Remember my affliction, the wormwood and the gall! My soul continually remembers it and is bowed down within me.
BUT THIS I CALL TO MIND AND THEREFORE I HAVE HOPE: THE STEADFAST LOVE OF THE LORD NEVER CEASES; HIS MERCIES NEVER COME TO AN END, THEY ARE NEW EVERY MORNING; GREAT IS YOUR FAITHFULNESS. “THE LORD IS MY PORTION” SAYS MY SOUL”THEREFORE I WILL HOPE IN HIM. It is good that one wait for the salvation of the Lord…for the Lord will not be cast off forever, but though he cause grief, he will have compassion according to the abundance of His steadfast love.”

Our endurance lays in the hands of a savior who is faithful. His mercies never come to an end. He is our portion. Hope in Him.

If you are going through a difficult trial, remember, The steadfast love the Lord never ceases. His mercies are new EVERY morning. Wait for His salvation.

Turn your sorrow into songs of praise, much like the writer in Lamentations.

The LORD knows you. You are his beloved and He is yours. You are valuable beyond what words can express and you are loved. Cling to Jesus, our Living Hope, and don’t let the enemy discourage you. He only comes to steal, kill, and destroy.

Jesus is Love.
Jesus is Hope.
Jesus is better.

 

Father,

Break me of my feeble mindedness. Search my heart and expose sin. Make me more like your Son. Remind me of your mercies which are renewed each day and are not contingent on my disbelief, works, or tendencies to fall into anxiety. Help my disbelief. Cast out any shadow of insidiousness fear and allow your Spirit to work.

-Your Servant.

Leave a Reply

