Twenty Seventeen – A New Year’s Resolution

Every year about this time, millions of Americans begin the process of reinventing themselves. For the first time in close to 300 days, they set goals and strive to become a better person…some for the first time in their lives. I’m obviously talking about the R word here…resolutions.

I’m guilty of falling into the trap of self improvement. In fact one of my goals this coming year is to get back onto a super food diet (bye bye golden arches :P) but there’s something even bigger we can set our sights on for this new year.

Self Sacrifice

I wrote a year ago about how self sacrifice needed to be our goal for 2016. Here I am a year later reflecting on what it looked like over the past year. As I reflect, I begin to realize that it’s taken a new shape; A new form. Much like other goals we set, over time it begins to evolve and become something else entirely.

Since themes evolve, I want my themes to build on each other. To be building blocks firm on the foundation of Christ. As they begin to grow and take new shape, I want to be able to extend my hand out and draw others in. So with that said, drumroll and dramatic silence please….

The theme for 2017 is INVEST.

This is the word the Holy Spirit has put on my heart and mind for 2017. I’m not sure what this will look like in the long run, but for now it flows out of the overarching banner of self sacrifice.

I will chose to invest in God. I will invest in the eternal not temporal perspective. I will continue to invest in others and their eternal destiny, and I will chose invest my love, time, and energy for the sake of the bigger picture taking place before our eyes.

All of this stems from one major concept…

This world is not home.
This body is a temporary vessel.
We are all embodied souls longing for something greater.
Longing for a right relationship with God.
Yearning to restore what was broken in the Garden of Eden.
And through Christ sacrifice the redemption of Mankind is continuing to take place.
And you are invited to be a part of that.

I welcome you to join me. I invite you to lay down the fallacy of self improvement over self sacrifice. I invite you to invest in the things unseen…the things that are eternal. Then everything else will fall into place.

If you desire to set a resolution that you’ll forget about by March, go right ahead. But this is my hope for you:

“Seek first the Kingdom of God and His righteousness, then all these things will be added to you.” (Matthew 6:33)

Self Sacrifice is the Banner
Invest is the theme
Hope is the anthem.

Don’t fall into the trap of self improvement this year.

Invest through self sacrifice.


In what ways will you chose to INVEST through self sacrifice this year?

Please leave me a comment below! I would love to encourage you along the journey!

And if you were encouraged by this post, please don’t forget to “like” and “share” so others can see. You never know who may need to hear these words 🙂

Leave a Reply

